clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


As a nonprofit news organization, THE CITY relies on donations and grants from foundations, individuals and sponsors who support our mission to produce hard-hitting reporting that serves the people of New York.

THE CITY is grateful to everyone who supports our work. Here are donors who have gifted $1,000 or more since launch.


Charles H. Revson Foundation

$3,000,000 - $3,999,999:

Leon Levy Foundation

$2,000,000 - $2,999,999:

Craig Newmark Philanthropies

$500,000 - $1,999,999:

Arnold Ventures

Jamie Alter and Michael Lynton

Oak Foundation

Richard Ravitch Foundation

$250,000 - $499,999:

Ford Foundation

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Stavros Niarchos Foundation

$100,000 - $249,999:

Altman Foundation

Bloomberg Philanthropies


Facebook Journalism Project

Miranda Family Foundation


Erin and John Thornton

Tishman Speyer

Trinity Church Wall Street Philanthropies

$25,000 - $99,999:

Christopher Buck

Mark Colodny


Cheryl C. and Blair Effron

Eutopia Foundation

Gary Ginsberg

The Miami Foundation

New York Community Trust

Ressler/Gertz Family Foundation

Spectrum News

Jill and Jon Steinberg

Tina & Steven Price Charitable Foundation

Warburg Pincus Foundation

$10,000 - $24,999:

Andrew Farkas

Lynne and Harold Handler

The J.M. Kaplan Fund

Susan Kane

The Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Fund

Elizabeth McNamara

Neuman Family Foundation

Gillian Sandler

Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr.

$1,000 - $9,999:

Seth Akabas

Daniel Akst

Milena Alberti-Perez

Jason Bailey

Sarah Bartlett

Laurie Beach

Susanne Beck

Zach Bernstein

Oliver Bivins

Mary Brosnahan

John Carter Brown IV

Tim Carvell

James Chung

Marsha Cooke

Edward Costello

The DARMA Fund

Virginia Darrow

Melissa De Jesus

Jacob Doctoroff

The Durst Organization

James Dwyer

Jeffrey Fagan

Richard Frank

Maria Gambale

Mala Gaonkar

Perry Gershon

Ethan Geto

Harry Giannoulis

Angela Gittens

Elizabeth Glazer

Google News Initiative

Nancy Haberman

Joe Hall

Tim Harper

Jessica and Matt Harris

Emily Hashimoto

David Haskell

Anna Hayes Levin

Risa Heller

Marie Hester

Bill Janeway

Alan Jones

Patricia Kitchen

Vera Kolpakova

Bill and Nyssa Kourakos

Michael and Lisa Cleff Kurtz

Rachel Lam

The Lenfest Institute for Journalism

Clifford Levy

Local Media Association

Stu Loeser

Ed Purce and Tami Luhby

Kathryn Markel Soutendijk

Thomas Matte

George McDonald

Thomas McMahon

Chantra Montoya-Pimolwatana

Roy Moskowitz

NYC Partnership Foundation, Inc.

Charles Phillips

Shira Piven

Janet Rassweiler

Reich + Weatherford Fund

David Resnick

Sam Roberts

Grace Robinson-Leo

Gerald Rosenfeld

Barbra and Andy Rothschild

Daniel Rothstein

Julie Sandorf

Rachel Sedor

Matt Seitz

Kristen Shaughnessy-Bush

Eric Silverberg

Benjamin Smith

Richard Smith

Solutions Journalism Network, Inc.

DongWon Song

Jerry Speyer

Martha Stark

Kathleen Sundt

Jane Swanson

Tucker Taylor

Debra Toppeta

William Traylor

Steven Tung

Bradley Tusk

Greg Van Ullen

Darren Walker

Michael Weinberger

Fred Wilson

Asher Woodbury

Frank Wu

The Zelnick/Belzberg Charitable Trust

THE CITY is committed to journalistic independence and transparency regarding our sources of financial support. You can read more in our Code of Ethics.